Blog Tour~Sparrow~by L.J. Shen

Title: Sparrow
Author: L.J. Shen
Genre: Contemporary Romance/Mafia
Published: March 8, 2016 
Troy Brennan. 

Every southie in Boston knows that name. The son of a dead mobster. The heartthrob with steel blue eyes. “The Fixer” who can make or break you in this city. 

Oh, and my new husband. 

Sparrow Raynes. 

No one seemed to remember my name up until he barged into my life. And me? All I ever wanted was to get a decent job and to run away from the damn neighborhood Brennan and I grew up in. Run away from him and his likes. 

I have dreams, big ones, but I doubt he’d ever let me chase them. I have no idea why Brennan, practically Bostonian royalty, decided to kidnap me, marry me and cage me in his beautiful penthouse. 

But I do know this: pissing off this man will not do me any good. At all.

Warning: This book contains graphic violence and adult situations some may find offensive.

Elizabeth’s Review
27276528
~4.75 Stunning Stars~
“Sparrow had me now, and I wasn’t letting anyone harm my little lovebird. If she was going to be ruined, it would be by me.”
Sparrow was a nail-biting read full of passion, suspense, and fury! This is my second L.J. Shen book and once again she has captivated me with her witty dialogue and endearing characters.

description

“Troy Brennan was Boston’s master manipulator, pulling strings like we were all his puppets.”
Troy Brennan is the KING of BOSTON! The son of a mobster, he is known for his ability to rule the streets and own anything and everything he wants. Driven by the desire to seek revenge for the death of his father, he is focused on blood and destruction. When it comes to the ladies, Troy is quite the player. However, he made a promise to his father that he would marry a spirited young redhead named Sparrow.

description

“He has a troubled past. A disastrous future. And I’m about to become a part of his present, whether I like it or not.”
Sparrow is most definitely NOT Troy Brennan’s “type”. And yet, she is, in fact, everything he needs. With a solid head on her shoulders and a “take no prisoner” attitude she is one heroine that knows what she wants and isn’t afraid to get it.
“Is there a way to love you away from me?”
“No, but you could hate-fuck me all you want.”
description

Sparrow is uncertain why she is required to marry Troy, and he works feverishly to guard her against the truth. The tension between the two characters is extreme and the passion that builds throughout each moment of suspense only compounds their desire to either “come together” or “break apart”. That is the question that lingers throughout the entire read.
“I’m a good runner.”
“And I’m an excellent chaser.”
description
“I was spiraling down, fast. Drowning, sinking, free-falling. I was defenseless, helpless, completely exposed. A sitting duck waiting for him to fill me with a buckshot and strip my feathers clean.”
Told in dual POV, Sparrow is full of action, mystery, and suspense. The friction between the two main characters makes the physical connection intense, raw, and utterly perfect. The tempo of the read is well paced, and the dialogue is well crafted throughout. Although I was able to figure out certain elements of the plot, the plight of the characters kept me engaged the entire read. The truth is, I love an alpha hero with a dash of “asshole”. I adored Troy, and Sparrow was a good match for him.
“We didn’t make love, we made war. When she was pulling, I was biting. When she was scratching, digging her nails into my flash, I slammed harder, faster. She was a blank, clean, white sheet for me to scribble on.”
description

Overall, Sparrow is the perfect read for fans of romance, action, and suspense. The characters are well developed and remarkable together. I adore this author’s ability to write natural dialogue (with ample humor) all while driving the suspense throughout each moment. This is one stand-alone book that will leave a huge smile on your face and your heart overflowing with feels! Bravo Ms. Shen. Bravo!

*ARC graciously provided via author in exchange for an honest review!*

loyda
Loyda’s Sparrow Activity

L.J. Shen resides in sunny California with her husband, son, chubby cat and wild, wild dreams.
Her passion is to write badass stories, sushi, UFC and her awesome family and friends (not in this order, though. Obviously, sushi comes before writing. Oh, and also the family part.)
She spend the first half of her twenties traveling the world and is now paying all the fun with extra shifts in front of her MacBook. Feel free to contact her on her Facebook page. She loves to hear from her readers.https://www.facebook.com/authorljshen/
 

HOSTED BY:

Leave a Reply

