Target on our Backs~by J.M. Darhower

~4.5 LOVING NAZ STARS~

“You see, when a king is killed, anarchy reigns as the next strongest male steps up to take his place.”

description

Target on Our Backs is a welcome home to Naz lovers everywhere. It offers a perfect blend of action and steam. It is the third book of the Monsters in His Eyes Series, and this series must be read in order.
description

“The man is an enigma. A beautiful, sometimes terrifying puzzle that I’m still piecing together, little by little.”

Target on Our Backs picks up directly after Torture to Her Soul. Karissa and Naz are now married, and both are focused on each other. Naz has made every effort to become a better man for Karissa. Karissa is still in school and trying to juggle studying, cooking, and being married to a “monster”. The relationship between the two is more open than it has ever been.

“The minute I convince her I’m never going to kill her, suddenly she’s the one trying to intimidate me.”

description

It doesn’t take long for Naz’s past occupational habits to creep back into their lives. Naz finds himself in a precarious position. He must find the balance of dealing with his “family” entanglements without affecting Karissa’s life. Naz’s character remains true to form. He is powerful, violent, and quite the lover to his young wife. Can a person of Naz’s status walk away from “the life” unscathed? The repercussions of every choice he has ever made (and the decisions he will make) are a constant threat for both himself and his beautiful wife.

“It’s only a matter of time before he comes for me. Before he wants me. Whoever he is…”

description

“You don’t need me to treat you like royalty to know what you mean to me. I can fuck you like this, fuck you like you’re nothing and you still know you’re everything to me.”

Told in dual POV, Target on Our Backs was an excellent addition to this series. I found myself giddy over the married couple. Their development has been quite a journey throughout the series, and I have enjoyed watching them grow. The action and steam in this read are a perfect concoction. Although certain elements of the plot were slightly predictable, the tension rising throughout the action kept me on high alert for the entire read. The dialogue is quite witty and the natural banter between Karissa and Naz was addictive and extremely humorous. Naz’s fierce love for Karissa goes above and beyond the standard “alpha male” category. I would say Naz is in a category all of his own. Additionally, the story arc was well developed and I was beyond pleased with the ending. Dare I say, I would happily read more of these two together? Yes! Yes, I would!

“But just because you call me a good guy doesn’t mean I am one. It just means I’ve sufficiently Stockholm’ed you.”

description

“Don’t tell me something happened to her not unless you want the world to burn.”

description
Overall, Target on Our Backs was a stunning addition to this series. Naz fans will love to see him back in action. He is by far one of my favorite heroes of all time! As always, I am drawn to this author like a moth to a flame. Everything she writes, she writes well. My kindle is full of Darhower goodness and if you haven’t read any of her work yet, this series is a great place to start!

***Monster in His Eyes Series***
Monster in His Eyes (Monster in His Eyes, #1) by J.M. DarhowerTorture to Her Soul (Monster in His Eyes, #2) by J.M. DarhowerTarget on Our Backs (Monster in His Eyes, #3) by J.M. Darhower

*ARC graciously provided via author in exchange for an honest review!*

Leave a Reply

