Saint Nicholas~by Jamie Deschain

~ 4 TENDER “Meet me on the roof.” STARS ~

description

St Nicholas is the tender romance of Sarah and Nicholas. It’s a story of what happens when the roadblocks of life try to tear love apart!

description

Sarah is a young woman from Hells Kitchen. While overcoming the awkwardness of managing school, making friends, and finding her purpose in life, she faces abuse daily from her father. Simply surviving the day is her only focus. And then, she meets Nicholas.

Nicholas is a spunky teenager who loves his mom and his little sister. He aspires to become a writer and enjoys life. When he meets Sarah, it is love at first sight. The two form a fast friendship, and Nicholas does everything he can to protect Sarah!

description

The two experience young love in the sweetest form. Stolen kisses, sneaking out to the movies, and spending time with their friends give them unforgettable moments in time. However, when the circumstances of life tear them apart, it seems their love wasn’t meant to be. Fast forward to several years in the future, Nicholas and Sarah might just have the opportunity to find their love again.

“Guilt was my girlfriend now. Holding my hand everywhere I went. Following me around like a lost puppy day and night, waiting for me to feed it, which I always did so it’d stick around longer.”

description

“I’d proven to myself that letting her go was the biggest mistake of my life and somehow, some way, I had to get her back.”

Told in dual POV, St Nicholas is a tender read that explores young love, addiction, abuse, and learning to love and trust again. The characters are complex, and their circumstances were quite realistic. The story is fashioned in both “the past” and “the present”. The tempo of the dialogue was well paced, and the love between Nicholas and Sarah was quite tender and beautiful to experience. This read evoked a plethora of emotions. I felt sad, happy, and even regret. I felt conflicted with some of the choices the characters made and yet, in the end, I appreciated the beauty of the journey!

“It’s okay. Don’t be scared, I got you. I’m her now, baby. I’ll take care of you, okay? I’ll take care of you.”

description

Overall, St Nicholas is a tender-hearted read that packs quite an emotional punch! I applaud Mr. Deschain for exploring such complex life situations and bringing these characters through this journey! I certainly look forward to reading more from this author! Bravo Mr. Deschain! Bravo!

This book was read on Shh… as part of a special event!

description

https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/…

*ARC graciously provided via author in exchange for an honest review!*

Leave a Reply

