ARC/LOYDA’S REVIEW ~ SPARROW BY L.J. SHEN

My Rating 4.5★★★★ Lovebird ~Stars

Title: Sparrow
Author: L.J. Shen
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Publication Date: March 8, 2016

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

“Even villains have a happy ending every now and again.

2016-31-3--21-00-59.png

 

Troy Brennan son of an Irish mob; was powerful and full of himself. Everyone knew not to mess with him; however he used his mob power differently.  He decided not to follow on his father’s footsteps but do whatever he wished for instead.  The death of his father had him thinking about his life and he was bound to avenge his father’s death. 

Sparrow Raynes young and naïve was given to Troy for marriage.  She was devastated but her father had no money and way too many debts to pay.  Her mother left her at a young age and she had no one other than her low life father.  Her relationship with Troy the “Fixer” was intense.  She was stubborn and hard headed and he was the same way. 

2016-31-3--21-28-57.png

Troy never intended to fall in love again yes, his heart and trust was broken and he told himself never again.  Well like the saying goes never say never; because he completely utterly falls for Sparrow and becomes protected over her.  At first he was such an ass I was so angry and frustrated with him I wanted to hurt him.  I sure had a love/hate relationship with Troy.  However; he sure made it up for it and oh boy this book was hot and steamy and full of suspense.  This book was sexy, suspenseful with a bit action and drama; when you thought you figure out who the killer of his father was and who is after him and hurting his wife; better think again. The author takes you on a wild twisted journey it was just incredible.  Fans of mafia and romantic suspense stories this book is for you.

2016-31-3--22-00-41.png

“Reality, though, was really quite simple. I was his, he was mine, and everything else we did and didn’t do to each other was just that. Our past.”

 

Book Order Series: Stand-Alone
Sparrow by L.J. Shen

Purchase Link:

Amazon: http://goo.gl/8sNnCU

description

 

BLURB

Troy Brennan

Every southie in Boston knows that name. The son of a dead mobster. The heart throb with steel blue eyes. “The Fixer” who can make or break you in this city.

Oh, and my new husband.

Sparrow Raynes

That’s me. No one seemed to remember my name up until he barged into my life.
But then he caged me.
Kidnapped me.
And killed every chance I had to runaway from the place where we grew up.
Put simply, Troy Brennan clipped my wings.

I have dreams, big ones, but I doubt he’d ever let me chase them. I have no idea why he’d decided to take me as his wife. But I do know this: pissing off this man will not do me any good. At all.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Goodreads   |   Facebook  |   Twitter

L.J. Shen is a former entertainment and music journalist and your average typical girl. She enjoys the simple things in life, like coffee, wine, reading, spending time with her family and Chris Hemsworth (NOT in this order.)

She lives in Northern California with her small family and chubby cat and writes Happily Ever After books about bad boys and good girls.

She loves talking books with her readers and is actually a very nice person, despite what you may have heard from her friends and family.

Feel free to contact her on Facebook and Twitter:

Leave a Reply

