ARC/LOYDA’S REVIEW~GIRL ON FIRE By Sue Wyshynski

31696381

23faa-add-to-goodreads-button

My Rating  4 ★★★★ Stars

Genre: Mystery/Science Fiction 
Type: Book 1 of The Butterfly Code Series
POV: First Person – Female

This review can also be found on GOODREADS.

“Butterflies can’t see their wings. They can’t see how truly beautiful they are, but everyone else can. People are like that as well. Be better.” #better #motivation #inspiration

“This is my legacy. To find her killer and to know what answers she’d been bringing to Switzerland.”

bevofox:

Aeris Thorne  is a violinist who recently was given the opportunity of a lifetime to play in the New York City Philharmonic and do what she does best Play Live on stage with her Violin.  She comes back to her home town to visit her father and old friends for the summer before her big dream begins.  The book starts with her hanging out with Gage and her best friend at a nightclub.  She meets Dr. Hunter Cayman outside the club; well she sees him and she immediately feels attracted to him; something she couldn’t explain.  He was beautiful and dangerous at the same time and that intrigued her.  Her father had warned her to stay away from him and of course she becomes more curious about him.

teaser-1-with-words

At the club she sees another girl with Hunter she was as gorgeous as Hunter; her name was Victoria and they looked good together but Aeris didn’t know if they had a love relationship or not she was just in lust with him but for the love of god she couldn’t figure out what was it about him that kept her wanting to see him; she wanted to know him.  Gage has a military history and he had a great childhood memories with Aeris; he also wants to have more than friendship with her but she only saw him as a brother.

Honestly, this book started very slow I was having trouble getting into it until finally the fun began.  I found myself unable to stop reading it.  Aeris curiosity about her father’s relationship with Dr. hot Hunter was too much; she had to know what the mystery was about him and his lab was.  She desperately wanted to solve the mystery behind the gate of the Phoenix Research lab.  What exactly where they hiding? Was it really a contagious diseases lab that had to be so private? Why was her father against it but at the same time talking to them? So many questions she had that curiosity got the best of her.  Little did she know that she was about to get a ride of her life.  A life she had no idea could even be possible. 

“In this small world of two, he’s everything to me and I’m everything to him… Sensations mirrored, echoing back on each other , on and on until infinity…We understand everything. We know everything…What he wants, I want. What sends fireworks exploding in his mind, sends them exploding in me, too.”

Hunter liked Aeris ok I hope he did his actions were different though they were all over the place I felt like I was going out of my mind; one day he is helping her the next he didn’t want to see her and I was a mess in my head. Like seriously?! Hunter make up your mind!!.  Aeris had an accident trying to run away from bad people aka Brewster King. She landed at Hunter’s lab and an experiment was performed and tested for the first time.   This bad guy “Brewster King” wanted to what these lab goods; he had wanted the formula that Hunter had and he was not going to stop until he gets it. 

 “The caterpillar melts inside its protective shell. And gradually their cells become new things. A new body, new eyes. New arms and legs. And something extra the caterpillar didn’t have before. Something special.” “Wings,” Hunter grinds out. “Exactly. And when it’s ready, when its change is complete, it crawls out and emerges like a phoenix. Reborn into something new.”

A time-lapse gif of the darkwing disease. (Dark faerie sickness)  (The gif may not work on Pinterest)

There were just too many unanswered questions by the end of the book though I need more answers so of course I will be patiently waiting for the next book in the series.  This is a new author for me and I was pretty excited to know that there’s more of this story.  I must know what is going to happen next.  I loved how Aeris father was so supported and carrying for her.  I also liked how someway Hunter and Aeris were connected to each other even if it was not by choice I still loved it.  I really hope that their connection does not end I am a bit scared though of what is coming but excited at the same time. I really enjoyed the ride packed with action, science mystery and suspense.  Lovers of mystery and science fiction will really enjoy this one.

teaser-2-with-words

“For now, I feel safe. I feel whole. I feel alive. I feel immortal.”

“Butterflies can’t see their wings. They can’t see how truly beautiful they are, but everyone else can. People are like that as well. Be better.” #better #motivation #inspiration

Book Order Series:
Girl On Fire (The Butterfly Code, #1) by Sue Wyshynski

FREE on AMAZON:
https://amzn.com/B016KCI05I

description

 

Leave a Reply

