Between Here and the Horizon~by Callie Hart

~4 CRAZIES STARS~

“Escaping him seemed impossible.”

description

Between Here and the Horizon is a stand-alone contemporary romance with mystery and a thoroughly twisted plot!
description

“I was helplessly undone.”

Ophelia Lang is a young school teacher who finds herself without a job. Her parent’s restaurant is failing, and her only choice is to seek work across the country as a nanny for a wealthy family. With a lucrative financial arrangement, she packs her bags and heads to a remote island off the coast of Maine. Ronan Fletcher, her new employer, is quite attractive and caring for his two children seems like a dream job. And yet, sometimes things are not at all as they seem.

description

“Nothing touches me anymore”

As Ophelia is thrown into a world of chaos, she clings to the children that are in her care and finds security in the friendships she has formed on the island. The challenges are great, the stakes are high, and love, life, and death weigh in the balance!

description

“I couldn’t take it, couldn’t bear it another second longer, and yet the pain and pleasure swirling through me was all I wanted at the same time. I couldn’t have told him to stop, even if I wanted to.”

Told in mostly Ophelia’s POV, Between Here and the Horizon was not at all what I expected it to be. I went in blind and I am so glad that I did. Certain elements of the plot left me completely blindsided. I was awestruck over the hero, and the depth of his character development was quite complex. Ophelia transformation was great and I thoroughly enjoyed her growth throughout the story. The relationships between the characters are unique and the diversity between them was quite entertaining. Certain elements of the plot were slightly predictable and yet other elements were unexpected and quite unsettling. Callie Hart is an expert when it comes to passionate writing with plenty of steam and she certainly did not disappoint. The mystery will keep you guessing with every turn of the page.
description
Between Here and the Horizon is a unique read with intrigue, romance, deception, and complex characters. Although there were a few elements of the story that caused a slight disconnect for me overall, I still enjoyed this read.

*ARC graciously provided via TRSOR in exchange for an honest review!

elizabeths-review

Leave a Reply

