CC’s ARC Review ~ BANE by D H Sidebottom

4 Action Packed Stars!!

 

description

Milly Evans is a dedicated assistant to Geoffrey Sparrow, owner of Sparrow Towers. After eight years with Sparrow, and feeling like it is her family, she feels like her own secrets can be locked away for good. However, after she witnesses her boss’ murder, Milly’s world is turned upside down and she is forced to confront her past in order to get answer in the present.

“It’s time for the truth, Rik Bane.”


Rik Bane is the silent partner of Warne Industries and one of the new owners of Sparrow Towers. During the transition, Rik is aloof but he is also aware of various dynamics and dangers that have forced his hand. As he takes the lead, he is fully aware of Milly’s expected reaction to meeting him but it doesn’t prevent what’s already been set in motion.

“I searched the fucking earth for you. You were my best friend, and you just upped and fucking left.”


As Milly’s new life is shattered, she must embrace her new knowledge and work with Rik to protect herself and those she still trusts. While Rik is under the impression he is fully in the know, he learns that he’s met his match professionally and romantically.

“Come for me babe. I want to see how fucking stunning you look when you come for me. You have no idea how many times I’ve pictured you coming for me, and on me.”


What ensues in Bane is action packed with a multi-layered plot involving greed and an underground spy network. At first, I thought this story was going to take a different direction but when it turned into a web of deceit and avarice, my interest intensified.

Milly is a character that battled nature versus nurture and I liked how the two sides were at war from within. Learning how to merge these opposites was intriguing to read and I admired her tenacity to protect those she loved. With Rik, I liked him immediately and understood how deep the connection ran between him and Milly. Of course, Rik had that sexy and effortless swagger that makes women swoon but there is more to him that just being a hot piece.

D.H. Sidebottom shows her range of writing in Bane, as it isn’t dark erotica but covers dark elements of the human psyche. The plot is loaded with twists and turns that kept me intrigued and in a constant search for all the answers. I also appreciated the funny moments between the main characters. Adding to Milly and Rik were a secondary cast of characters that enriched the plot and supported the complex story line. Though, there are still some parts that I wanted to be resolved, the narrative was entertaining and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

For those seeking a book with suspense, action and a second chance at romance, I highly recommend!

*An ARC was provided in exchange for an honest review.

*This was a (F)BR with Twinsie Hawkey and Loyda!

 

de60a-add-to-goodreads-button-2

 

cc-reviews

 

Leave a Reply

