ARC/LOYDA’S REVIEW~BLACK HEARTS By Karina Halle

33543600

e2cd6-add-to-goodreads-button-2

4★★★★Stars

Genre: Dark Romance
Type: Book 1 of 2 from Sins Duet
POV: First Person – Dual

This review can also be found on GOODREADS.

 

“The Bernals aren’t good people. The McQueens aren’t either.”

Violet McQueen has been sheltered by her family and is now trying to find her way in life studying as a photographer.  One day she meets a man that caught her attention.  He was mysterious extremely hot and she found herself trusting him more than she should any other stranger.

“But I’m sure you of all people would know that sometimes you can connect with someone in ways you didn’t think you could.”

Vicente Bernal as the older son is required a lot by his father who is a drug lord at a cartel in Mexico.  He wants answers about his father and will not stop until he finds what he is looking for.  Vicente flies to California in hopes he could find answers to his questions.  He did not foreseen finding a gorgeous girl that he so easy found possessive over.  He also wanted the power and take over his father’s empire but on his own terms.

“I’ve had a taste of the power, the glory, the respect, and the money. I’m not saying I don’t want it. But I want it my way. Not his.”

 

I found this book extremely hot and there were so many steamy scenes it had me fanning myself.  Violet was a little naïve but a total badass as well.  I could understand the internal struggle she was going thru with trusting her family but losing trust due to lies and she found herself conflicted with her feelings towards doing what’s right for her family and what she felt inside.

 

This book was a very fast pace read, it had a combination of suspense and mystery.  So many questions had me pulling my hair I wanted to know what was going on and couldn’t read fast enough.  We do get to see characters from several other series thought and I wish I would have read those books now because I did found myself a little bit confused at times so I personally recommending reading prior series to get a more full understanding of this story.

I liked Violet and Vicente’s chemistry however I kind of felt something was missing with them too I don’t know if it was the secrecy on the story but I couldn’t connect one hundred percent but the story itself was very intriguing. However; I am super excited for the next installment of this duet and can hardly wait to find out how this is going to end.  Readers of mafia and dark romance will find this book appealing.

 

This was a F(BR) with CC & Liz

descriptiondescriptiondescription

 

description

 

Leave a Reply

